Jerry Garcia & Merl Saunders - GarciaLive Volume 6: 7/5/73 Digital Download
Roll Over Image to Zoom
Email a Friend

Jerry Garcia & Merl Saunders - GarciaLive Volume 6: 7/5/73 Digital Download

 MP3, 256kbps : $15.99
 FLAC, 16 Bit,44.1khz : $18.99
 FLAC, 24 Bit, 2116 kbps, 44.1khz : $19.99

Need help selecting format?
  • Add to Cart
Volume Six showcases Jerry Garcia and Merl Saunders’ July 5th, 1973 performance at the Lion’s Share in San Anselmo, CA. Recorded by Betty Cantor-Jackson just five days prior to the seminal performances celebrated on the Live at the Keystone series, GarciaLive Volume Six highlights a particularly adventurous evening at the Lion’s Share, a 200 capacity club known for its vibrant music scene which drew regulars like Janis Joplin, Phil Lesh, Van Morrison, and many others. The club’s intimacy can be felt throughout the recordings as the band, rounded out by John Kahn on bass and drummer Bill Vitt, frequently launch into extended improvisations fueled by the exchange of energy with the audience. The blistering “She’s Got Charisma” -> “That’s Alright, Mama”, which clocks in at over 31 minutes long, “starts off innocently in familiar blues territory, but very quickly deconstructs into fragmentation and exploration, defying both gravity and expectation at the same time” as writer Benjy Eisen eloquently describes in the releases’ liner note essay. The presence of an unidentified guest on trumpet during the band’s second set adds to the freedom and looseness found within the performance. The guest trumpeter is felt most during extended takes on “My Funny Valentine” and “Merl’s Tune,” both easy highlights of the entire evening. Item #: JYDD16
FLAC 16 bit files are 44.1khz
FLAC 24 bit files are 2116 kbps, 44.1khz

Disc One:
1. After Midnight
2. Someday Baby
3. She’s Got Charisma ->
4. That’s Alright, Mama

Disc Two:
1. The System
2. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down
3. I Second That Emotion
4. My Funny Valentine
5. Finders Keepers

Disc Three:
1. Money Honey
2. Like A Road
3. Merl’s Tune ->
4. Lion’s Share Jam
5. How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You)

SELECT Format:

PlaySong TitleTimeArtistPriceBuy
1:1AFTER MIDNIGHT10:35Jerry Garcia Album Only
1:2SOMEDAY9:15Jerry Garcia Album Only
1:3SHE'S GOT CHARISMA18:41Jerry Garcia Album Only
1:4THAT'S ALL RIGHT, MAMA13:17Jerry Garcia Album Only
1:5THE SYSTEM18:45Jerry Garcia Album Only
1:7I SECOND THAT EMOTION13:30Jerry Garcia Album Only
1:8MY FUNNY VALENTINE19:17Jerry Garcia Album Only
1:9FINDERS KEEPERS9:30Jerry Garcia Album Only
1:10MONEY HONEY8:38Jerry Garcia Album Only
1:11LIKE A ROAD9:22Jerry Garcia Album Only
1:12MERL'S TUNE16:45Jerry Garcia Album Only
1:13JAM9:52Jerry Garcia Album Only
1:14HOW SWEET IT IS (TO BE LOVED BY YOU)6:05Jerry Garcia Album Only
You may also be interested in:
  • Jerry Garcia Band - GarciaLive Volume 7: 11/8/76 Digital Download
  • Jerry Garcia Band - GarciaLive Volume 5: 12/31/75 Digital Download
  • Jerry Garcia Band - GarciaLive Volume 2: 8/5/90 Digital Download
  • Jerry Garcia Band - GarciaLive Volume 8: 11/23/91 Digital Download
  • Jerry Garcia Band - GarciaLive Volume 4: 3/22/78 Digital Download
  • Hart Valley Drifters - Folk Time Digital Download
  • GarciaLive Volume Three: December 14-15, 1974 Download
  • Jerry Garcia Band - GarciaLive Volume 1: Capitol Theatre, 3/1/80 Digital Download
  • Fall 1989: The Long Island Sound Digital Download
  • Jerry Garcia & Merl Saunders - GarciaLive Volume 9: 8/11/74 Digital Download