Jerry Garcia - Reflections 180g LP
Roll Over Image to Zoom
alternate views:
  • Jerry Garcia - Reflections 180g LP
Email a Friend

Jerry Garcia - Reflections 180g LP

  • Add to Cart
40th Anniversary re-issue on 180gram black vinyl remastered for release by Fred Kevorkian. Pressed by Quality Record Pressings. Lacquers cut by Ron McMaster at Capitol Studios.

Originally released in early 1976, Reflections features a diverse mix of roots-oriented styles with contributions from Garcia’s two primary vehicles of musical expression — the Grateful Dead and the Jerry Garcia Band. In some ways, Reflections picks up where Garcia and the Dead left off on Blues For Allah. Speaking about the sessions, Garcia explained “we were having fun in the studio is what it boils down to, and that’s pretty rare for us. The energy was there, and I thought, ‘I’ve got a solo album coming up. Let’s cut these tracks with the Grateful Dead. I’ve already taught them the tunes.’” Assembled in Bob Weir’s home studio, Ace’s, Garcia and the Dead laid down well-worn but never previously recorded songs including “They Love Each Other”, “It Must Have Been The Roses”, and “Comes A Time” plus a new song, Robert Hunter’s “Might As Well” — a document of the Dead’s 1970 trip across Canada aboard the legendary Festival Express. The balance of the record showcases the late-1975 Jerry Garcia Band core featuring John Kahn, Ron Tutt and Nicky Hopkins, plus Larry Knechtel of the famed Wrecking Crew. Like the material recorded by the Grateful Dead, the Jerry Garcia Band’s selections were also road-tested prior to recording. The cuts included the seminal Garcia/Hunter ballad "Mission in the Rain” plus renditions of Hank Ballard’s rocker “Tore Up Over You”, “Catfish John” and Allen Toussaint’s “I’ll Take A Melody.” As Steve Silberman noted in the 2004 All Good Things box set, while Reflections was effectively two half-albums in one, "it’s one of Garcia’s most artistically unified statements of harmony, affirmation and joy.”

For more info and the track listing, click Details below.
 Item #: JYLP03
1. Might As Well
2. Mission In The Rain
3. They Love Each Other
4. I’ll Take A Melody
5. It Must Have Been The Roses
6. Tore Up Over You
7. Catfish John
8. Comes A Time

Note: This reissued vinyl is currently available for pre-order and will be released on November 25, 2016. Your order will ship on or around November 22 including any other items on your order. If you wish to receive your non-pre-order items sooner, please place two separate orders.
You may also be interested in:
  • Jerry Garcia Compliments LP
  • Jerry Garcia Band - GarciaLive Volume 8: 11/23/91 2-CD Set
  • Hart Valley Drifters - Folk Time CD
  • Jerry Garcia Band - GarciaLive Vol. 7: 11/8/76 2-CD Set
  • Jerry Garcia Compliments LP, Notepad, and Slipmat Bundle
  • Reflections (Expanded and Remastered)
  • Compliments (Expanded and Remastered)
  • Jerry Garcia Wolf Mesh Snapback Hat
  • Jerry Garcia Band - On Broadway Act One: 10/28/87 3-CD Set